hold your breath to breathe

learning, lungs and life — one breath at a time

first asthma twitter chat june 21 8 PM CST– #lwac

I’ve expressed interest in starting an asthma chat on Twitter.
Simply, I’m calling this one Living With Asthma Chat, or LWAC.

I’m hoping to try one out next Tuesday, June 21st at 8-9 PM CST if there’s enough interest generated [we’ll say at least ten people].

Here’s what I need you to do to help me out:
-Make a Twitter account if you don’t already have one — https://twitter.com/?lang=en
–Please get familiar with Twitter before the chat. I can help you out via e-mail. You will need to know how to send “at replies” and use the #lwac hash tag. It’s not as scary as it sounds!

-Follow @LWAChat on Twitter at http://twitter.com/LWAChat
-I’ll be participating in the chat on my personal account at http://twitter.com/__kerri

DISCUSSION IDEAS
-Please submit discussion themes to lwachat@gmail.com or my personal e-mail address with the subject LWAC.

If you have specific discussion topics within these themes, please outline them in the e-mail.

EXAMPLE TOPIC: ASTHMA ADVOCACY
SPECIFIC TOPICS: 
~What has your experience been with your region’s official asthma advocacy organization?
~What would you like to see done differently in organization-facilitated advocacy?
~What has your personal involvement in asthma advocacy been like?
~Now that you’ve seen what others have been up to re: advocacy, what new ideas would you like to try?

I’d like to have four specific questions pertaining to the topic per session.

Much like the other chats I’ve been involved in, we’d begin with introductions at 8 PM CST for about five minutes, spend ten-ish minutes per topic, and then have some time for closing at the end, and be wrapped up by 9PM CST. [Sorry to our friends across the pond, feel free to get up early and join us ;)].

I’ve also set up a blog that may or may not be used to facilitate communication about chat topics. Feel free to check it out at http://lwachat.wordpress.com/ or just use the e-mail address[es] above.

PLEASE contact me ASAP via the SARP group, e-mail or the Breathinstephen asthma forums if you’re interested in participating, have questions or have ideas to contribute! 

Additionally, if this gets rolling, how often would you like these chats to occur? Weekly, biweekly, monthly?

Let me know your thoughts!

4 responses to “first asthma twitter chat june 21 8 PM CST– #lwac

  1. Natasha 06/15/2011 at 5:15 am

    Oooh, love the new blog, very nice job!

    • Kerri 06/15/2011 at 8:35 am

      Thanks! Might have to fire up the windows computer with Photoshop for some other blog redos. :P

  2. Elisheva 06/19/2011 at 12:08 pm

    Dude. I don’t have twitter, but other people on this side of the pond do, and 8-9 PM CST is really, really late over here.

    • kerri 06/19/2011 at 3:53 pm

      Unfortunately I can’t facilitate for everybody’s participation — I wish I could. This is one of the only reliable times that I can fit into my OWN schedule to moderate.

      If someone on that side of the world wants to organize a twitter chat, then, more power to them and I’d be glad to help out. But for now, this is how it’s rolling.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

